The Sixteenth Judicial District of Louisiana is comprised of the parishes of Iberia, St. Mary and St. Martin. The courthouses of the district are located in the three parish seats: New Iberia, Franklin, and St. Martinville. Each is located on the banks of the Bayou Teche which winds through the district. The 2010 census results show a population of 180,050. About 6500 civil cases, 6500 criminal cases (not including traffic cases), and 2500 juvenile cases are filed annually in the offices of the Clerks of Court of the District.

The caseload of the entire district is handled by eight elected judges and three non-support hearing officers who are appointed by the judges. Prior to 1993, the judges of the district were all elected district-wide. In order to increase the number of minority judges, in that year the legislature created two election sections. Presently two judges are elected from Section One (Divisions G and H) and six judges are elected from Section Two (Divisions A,B,C,D,E and F). All judges have general trial jurisdiction throughout the district.